Gnaw's 100g Tank Restoration & Stand Project

Gnaw

Alright guys and girls put on your hardhats and roll up your sleeves. This is the official thread for my 100 gallon tank project!

I don't know anything about used aquariums or restoring them, but I love to build/make things, and I have a world of resources at my fingertips and lots of help from some great people.

There is a common story amongst aquarists that is directly related to the number of tanks they own. Usually its something along the lines of: The fish are getting bigger, or I want more fish etc.. The result of such statements is another tank... a bigger tank!

The Beginning:

My beloved little friends have outgrown their home. I'm a student on my own who works seasonally, so funds are limited.

On Dec 30, 2008 I responded to an add featuring a used 100 gallon aquarium with lighting and stand for $200.00, so I wanted to check it out. The first buyer never bothered to show-up and I happened to be next in line. The elderly man who owned it was moving soon and was very worried that he wouldn't be able to remove it from his apartment, so he lowered his price to $150.00 (sneaky old man) having only twenty's and no-one around to break it, final price was $140.00.

Like a kid too eager for a new puppy I rushed in! I should have taken the time to really consider it. I would have noticed the large number of scratches, the awful amount of mineral and algae everywhere, the homemade stand and lighting, the base which sat within a rusty fame constructed of welded angle iron, the LARGE mouse-like hole in the front panel! Yep, what a great deal I thought to myself.

I found out as I was disassembling it that the owner had cut the hole in the front for his pet cat to sleep in. Of course I find this out until after I reached in and felt something like a pillow inside which I than grabbed and yanked out. Unfortunately the cat was sleeping in it and my hand suffered his wrath!