My Backyard Pond/Waterfall Build

MMAX

Began building a backyard waterfall/pond. It's my first attempt at this, did a crapload of research before beginning, any comments good or bad would be appreciated...

A couple of pics of my backyard before starting

BackyardPond001.jpg

BackyardPond004.jpg

Tree at bottom of hill was removed yesterday. Picked up a 50 gal header pool with spillway. Dug a hole for the bottom sump leaving the top level with the ground. Wanted a good size drop from the header to the first mini pool, also didn't want to deal with the roots of the big popalar tree behind it.

BackyardPond005.jpg

BackyardPond006.jpg

Proposed stream course down hill

BackyardPond009.jpg

First mini pool below spillway

BackyardPond008.jpg

3 mini pools dug for a proposed 4 step waterfall into main pond

BackyardPond012.jpg

Started rockwork around header pool and digging streambed linking mini pools together

BackyardPond013.jpg

BackyardPond014.jpg

I'll keep posting as I continue with build.

• Replies 130
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Looks Like a fun project am looking forward to more pics----I hope you called before you started digging for gas line locations as you don't want to go :boom:

Looks Like a fun project am looking forward to more pics----I hope you called before you started digging for gas line locations as you don't want to go :boom:

First thing I did. Only lines back there was an old underground sprinkler system that didn't work anyway.

Looks like you have lots of canine assistants, the best kind. Can't wait to see how it looks finished!!

Looks like you have lots of canine assistants, the best kind. Can't wait to see how it looks finished!!