My 5 Gallon Planted

creekbottom

I'm fairly new here on AA but not so new to fish keeping. Although I've never done tanks like this before. Usually fish in a tank and do my best to keep the algae out... boring!!! So I've decided to change things up a bit and am using this 5 gallon to try out a whole bunch of the things I've learned by experimenting with my 10 and 20g's, and reading the endless and always contradictory info online. :huh:

This forum has been a great place for info and answers, for even simple questions. I don't know how many hours I've spent cruising the forum soaking up info.

So here goes!

5.5 gallon acrylic tank

hood included with lights

photo-9.jpg

I've never done acrylic before, always glass, so not sure how this will work out. I bought the tank used off one of the members here.

I painted the back black:

photo-8.jpg

photo-6.jpg

I was in superstore one day and came across these:

photo-7.jpg

which are better than what's in the hood now.

So now to fill it!!! I think I'm going to be putting shrimp in here and nothing else. So I wanted black substrate - good luck! I'm pretty sure anything I choose is going to be pricey. I decided not to go with one of the fancy plant substrates, even though they are darker in color. Tahitian moon sand is pretty expensive if you can find it, I couldn't find it here in Edmonton but I didn't look very hard. I found this:

photo-4.jpg

It was in the reptile section of a big box store. The bag says it's all natural sand with no additives or chemicals. Here's hoping it's safe. Everything I've read so far says it should be. It's pretty fine so there will definitely be MTS going in there.

I got this:

photo-5.jpg

from a pile on the side of the road near the gravel pits west of Edmonton. It was DIRTY, but cleaned up well enough, just not crazy about the color. I did put a box of laterite down underneath the sand, we'll see.