Starting Reef Setup

Moogled

I'm not sure how sensitive people are with money spent on fish, so I'm going to give it a try. How much did you spend on a reef tank, from beginning to present?

I've read a little on keeping reef tanks, but the whole price situation is still a mystery to me. Since I am a part-time student, money does not come very readily, and given the expensive nature of a saltwater tank, I was wondering what you guys think of reef tanks for a young adult.

Is it something you shouldn't dwell into unless you have alot of spare money? How much am I looking to spend for an average Reef setup? I suppose the biggest right now I would consider is a 20-25 gallon, but no more than that.

Some books suggest that I prepare around 50 dollars per gallon, but that is out of reach for someone like me.

Any personal experiences will be greatly appreciated.

HA! Way to go, Murray!

How long did it take for you to acquire all necessary items? I'm planning to spend around 400 and leave it at that for a couple of months before I put more money into the tank.

PS: How's that cleaner wrasse that you grabbed a couple months ago doing?

HA! Way to go, Murray!

How long did it take for you to acquire all necessary items? I'm planning to spend around 400 and leave it at that for a couple of months before I put more money into the tank.

PS: How's that cleaner wrasse that you grabbed a couple months ago doing?

Thanks It took a couple weeks no more than a month it was fairly easy just have to be a fast typer :lol: I just sold about 10 frags of xenia outta it and some zoos so It's slowly trying to pay for itself.

As for the cleaner wrasse that wasn't me....unless you are talking of the 6-lined wrasse that was me and he is doing great always cruising for pods and being fat is what he loves B)

the AC500 at the moment just houses the heater and a Fission skimmer im trying out. It also provides all the flow for the tank