Dsm Flooded: How Much Pearling?

cainechow

I flooded my DSM on Friday night (2 nights ago). I just got the drop checker in tonight so we'll see how the CO2 levels are tomorrow morning. I'm running:

• 7hr photo period
  • one 18" sunblaster
  • 10 gallon tank
  • Fluorite substrate
  • No ferts yet (should have ordered them earlier)

How much pearling is an indicator that I'm doing okay? A picture is worth a 1000 words?

IMG_20120812_225925.jpg

That is pretty zoomed in. I'm getting some pearling. But it doesn't seem like all that much at all. the photo probably shows 4"x 4" section.

What say you?

On a side note, I'm guessing the dark spots on the HC is some kind of fert deficiency.

Edit: added some more detail

Edited by cainechow

You need as much co2 in the water as possible after the transition. I had been misting my plants with a water/fert solution for 2 months so when I flooded I knew they had enough ferts to work with. So I cranked the co2 and with lots of light they were pearling like crazy. Your plants will pearl when they have all the things they need: light, co2, micro/macro nutrients. I notice my plants don't pearl as much if something is missing. The fact that your plants are pearling at all is an indicator that you are doing good.

Also as Jro stated they will adjust for a while after the flooding as well.

What type of DIY setup do you have right now?

I'm running two 2L pop bottles which are producing between 2 and 3 bps total. The CO2 is being run into the venturi of my sump pump. I know I'm not getting full diffusion because I can see little bubbles flying out of the return into the tank. I have a CO2 reactor built, but it is leaking under pressure and was a bit impatient after 13 weeks DSM and DIY problems so I went with running the CO2 into the pump venturi connection.