Looking for your opinion...

nevchewy

Here are a couple of pictures of the labs. These were taken in the bag and then released. They were only in my tank for an hour when these pics were taken:

These 3 I got for $28:

yellow1.jpg

This was the bag labelled as a female ($15):

yellow2.jpg

This was the best group shot i could take:

yellow3.jpg

yellow4.jpg

yellow5.jpg

This is the female with my socofoli:

yellow6.jpg

yellow7.jpg

yellow8.jpg

in the bag of 3 all have egg spots while the single female doesn't.

Is it normal for labs to have egg spots?

Please feel free to comment on my pick up. I'm no expert but... i really like their coloring!

If it was you that submitted them to the auction.... again i thank you!

nevchewy

Hey Nev, congrats on the new labs!

To be honest, it's difficult to really comment on the quality by the pics you provided. I'm also assuming that your lighting is causing them to appear more orange, than yellow. The 5th pic looks the best, and it appears to be a quality fish.

What size are they?

FYI - the only way to truly sex a lab is by venting them, or seeing females holding. Egg spots, amount of black on the lower fins, etc-etc, is not a reliable method. I have females that most people would bet money on them being males.

I'm new to venting... but when they were in thier bags in the tank... i could see underneith them.

To be honest they all looked like they are female!

they all had a large hole that looked similar to the female zebra that i have. It almost looked swollen...

I'm no expert... and i could be wrong.

I'll try to take more pics for you to see.

Thanks again RD!

nev

~~ EDIT ~~

Sorry for got to add... the biggest one is about 3 inches and the smallest about 2.5 inches.

Edited by nevchewy

Please feel free to comment on my pick up