Frustration and New plants

Raven

The three new plants i bought a couple week back had root systems growing on them, and were doing well. Now though, all the stems of the plants are detaching it seems, from the roots, and i have alot of plants floating on the top of the water. Why does this happen? will the plants die? Or will they grow still? What should i be doing?

Well, I need to say that I am not an expert in maintaining a planted aquarium, but I am about to start one. I like Dutch style aquascaping. I was reading lots of information online about plant care and what is required for abundant plant growth. Here are some sites that I found the most useful.

http://faq.thekrib.com/plant.html

http://home.infinet.net/teban/

http://www.johnsaquatics.com/aquaticplants.htm

Good luck!

What type of plants are they?

Some plants are grown emersed and can under go changes when you bring them home and keep them submerged in your tank. I have had swords loose all their leaves after a few weeks in my tank onyl to be replaced by their new under water leaves.

Or depending on where you bought these plants they could not even be aquatic plants and won't last long under water. I know a few of my first plants were sold to me as aquatic but turned out to be land plants. Pet stores seems to sell a lot of these types.

SO if you can find out a name for your plants that would help a lot in helping you care for it. Tropica is a great site to look for plant info.

they are new Water Wisteris, a Rotala Indica, and a bocampa (sp) i think. far as i know they were really aquatic plants. ive one whole plat, all its stems i mean floating in the water now, the others seem to be ok... but are loosing them aswell. Maybe my snails are the reason? But ive never heard of a blk mystery and a ramhorn eating plants before, and ive never had any problems till now.