Tang Community Tank

Fishful Thinking

I may be purchasing a 360 gallon tank in the near future. Part of what I love about getting a new and bigger tank is thinking of all of the possibilities. I would eventually want to go with some big fish, but in the meantime I was thinking of combining my two tropheus colonies in it. That does not seem to be a major issue, but I have some fish that I was thinking of adding.

The tank will be 96x36x24. If breeding were not a goal, would the following combination work?

- 22 chimba (2 inches)

- 22 kiriza (1.5-3.5 inches)

- 8 multipunctatus (3-4 inches)

- 12 petricolas (4 at 3 inches, 8 at 2 inches)

- 2 compressiceps (2.5 inches)

- 1 calvus (2.5 inches)

- 1 julidochromis marlieri (3 inches)

- 2 BN (1 at 4 inches, 1 at 3 inches)

Thanks.

Hey Greg. I see your getting about as much help with this as I am with my frontosa tank question.

:rofl:

As you know I'm no expert on the subject, but I'll offer my quick 2 cents, for what it's worth.

I tried putting a goldhead compreciseps in with my 2 black calvus in my 55 a while ago. He didn't stay long, he picked on the female calvus non stop.

That being said, I am going to try them together in my 180 again. Along with fronts, leleupis, and a few juli's.

I hope to see less problem with much more room. You'll have even more room yet, so I would expect the space would allow them to co-habitate peacefully. But thats just a guess at this point. If I have them together in the 180 before you have the 360, I'll let you know how it goes.

My only other thought is that with only 1 calvus and 1 juli, they might feel overwhelmed (stressed) by the tropheus' high energy antics. You may consider adding a few more of each of these speces.

Other than that, I think you'll have enough room to make that stock list work easily, with room to grow.

Again, for what my opinion is worth... :)

Boom :boom: