Blue Rams

stsetter

Hi there, I am just getting into SA cichlids (rams) and came across an intriguing question (well for me anyways). Now I used to breed reptiles and have a good understanding of dominant, co-dominate and recessive genes but I am not sure how it applies to fish. I recently picked up a couple Bolivian Red Rams and a couple Electric Blue Rams. Now from my research, the reds and blues won't breed due to different genus families, is this correct? Also, it is my understanding that the Electric Blue Ram is just a "morph" of a GBR. If so, when I get my GBRs is there a chance they may pair off with my Electric Blues? Just curious as I would prefer three or four different pairs of Rams (thinking about golds as well but if you have any suggestions that would be great!)

Golds, Electric Blues and German Blues are all the same species - just different color morphs. So, the will interbreed - there is no guarantee that the colors won't mix. Bolivians are a completely different species, so they will not likely interbreed with the others.

Ok good to know. So if I go with all four (red, blue, electric blue and gold) I will end up with the potential of a mix (with the exception of the reds)? How are apistos? Are they aggressive towards the rams? I was thinking if I do three pairs of rams I would do one pair of apistos just for their colour. Good or bad idea?

apistos are a bit more aggresive than the other rams.

how big of a tank were you thinking of setting up for these guys? there would probably be alot of aggression n this tank so you would need a big one.

there would need to be alot of caves/driftwood/rocks/plants for them to hide in if one is getting picked on.