Aquarium safe foam

canucklehead

I was wondering if anyone has a source or brand of foam/sponge material they use in their filters. I looked at a craft store but the only foam they had comes with anti-fungal treatment so its useless.

i am using the polyester/floss material from a craft store and it works great but I wanted a more durable replacement for my wet dry and AC 500's

Any suggestions?

• Replies 35
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Funny you should ask such a question, Canucklehead B) There is such a foam!

I have been using them for over ten years, now. I use them in my W/D BIO-TOWERS@.

They are available at your local larger ""Fanny Fabric "" type stores. Where a person goes to buy fabric for making clothes, etc....retail store.

These are true white [ no anti-fungal treatment copper or arsnic ].

They are used for pillows or appoulistry[sp].

Available in 1/2" to 6" thickness and any lenght you need. AND cheap :rolleyes:

The one inch thick ''white'' foam is easiest to clean.

The white foams have fine pores and are excellant as mechanical filters [polishing].

NOTE - the A/C foams are excellant as bio-foams. Whereas the white fine foams tend to need cleaning more often. If dirty water is filtered through them.

In some applications, I will stack ten - 1'' foams - for the mechanical filteration. When the top foam becomes dirty ... daily .. maintance; I just switch it with a fresh clean one.

Easy to clean - just wash-squeeze them in water till clean.

Smokey

I am not familar with Calgary.

Check out the yellow pages; under fabrics, Fabric shops, etc.... larger stores will carry the foam in huge rolls - just cut what you need.

Beware - these places are full of women with sharp objects.. :lol::lol::lol:

Easy to clean - just wash-squeeze them in water till clean.