Diy decor

Ayametaylor

Hey all, new to fishes and all things keeping them! But i love doing projects and i really would like to diy a costum insert for my tank. Couple of questions as again super novice here: 

When making anything for the ineeior of my tank what is the  best "faux" rock medium? I am hoping to put a costume piece into a mold and have it set so i can create a ruins center piece  for my 10gallon rectangle tank.

The costume piece i was hoping on saving some time and or effort and using a store bought model kit. But i wouldnt want it to leach any badness to my fishes. Is this possible? 

This piece would then seperate the  substrate of half sand half gravel. 

I am hoping to make the half sand section with live plants for oxygen production that are both medium and tall liners as well as putting in apartially submerged hide for my (thinking its a) dojo loach. Either by constructing one or buying one. 

-best oxygen plants that wont contrast with (mollies, shrimp, snail only one, and a loach) hoping for more of an almost forest look with out too much crowding. (And is also possibly suitable for eldars livebirths.) 

The gravel side is more for showing off the natural textures of the tank. And easier clean up on at least one side lol. 

Any ideas?  Advice? Or expertise would be awesome! 

I've seen some amazing backgrounds made from Styrofoam - the hard blue or pink seem to be the easiest to work with, but I've seen many done with the white bead-type.  Check out YouTube for some great DIY projects.

• 2 weeks later...

I already have a concept for my diy project i am just unsure how to test the type of plastic. I would like to use the model kit i have had.for a while. It is unpainted and un decorated and just begging to be turned into a ruin structor inside a tank. 

I was thinking on using natural stone as a partial background and cement to.keep the entire piece together which can then be covered in sand and gravel.