Angelfish growth

newbie2

Hello all, Im just wondering about the normal growth rate of angelfish(Pterophyllum scalare). Most sources say they grow to be 4-6" in size but I guess I'm just wondering if it takes ten years to get there or does most of the growth happen in the first year or so.

I know Its kind of a dumb question but I am a newbie :blush:

I would guess it includes the tail. Im just wondering what some actual growth rates/sizes are compared to what they say on the internet. I ahve had my angels for about 3 months now and while one has grown to about 3 inches (doubled since put in tank), the others have grown just a small amount- if at all. Could it just be a dominant fish thing?.

I also read that water changes have a lot more to do with growth than food. I know they eat well (perhaps a little too well). Is one 25% water change weekly enough? they are in a 90g planted tank.

Most of their growth ocurs in the first year to year and a half after that they slow down

thanks Nick. When I got the angels I was hoping they would grow up quite a bit more but it seems after the initial growth spurt, they slowed down quite a bit. I guess patience is a virtue - just not one of mine. :blush:

4 to 6 inches is pretty general, and not entirely acurate either. I've seen them full grown at 3". I've also seen a monster of a black angel over a foot tall.

Yeah, I had a friend who swears he had angels that were "as big as his head", living in an aquarium built from three deep freezes overflowing into each other and packed with plants :boxed: haha. Now that would be quite the youtube video. haha

Thanks again for the help

Since angelfish are so tall and flat bodied its sometimes hard to estimate size properly, especially since most people like to over estimate. Also since their fins are so long that can add a lot of extra inches.