What Kind of substrate do you use?

Jods2518

I have just bought a new 180gal tank and am trying to decide what kind of gravel and or sand to use, Im leaning towards sand as I have never used it before!

Please leave all comment you'd feel appropriate...

-ease of cleaning

-cost

-appereance

-where you bought it

and anything you feel I should know, or anyone else thinking substrate!

Thanks everyone

Jods

Are you setting up a fresh water set up with cichlids???

I like using crushed coral in my african tanks, it serves many purposes.

It's not as fine as sand so I does not wreck the impellers and motors of my aqua clears. It buffers the ph of the water and keeps it nice and hard for africans. and it is a lot eaier to clean compared with gravel.

It's sort of right in the middle of sand and gravel.

I prefer using the finer crush coral

After having recently tried pool filter sand, I'm not sure I'm 100% sold on it. I have frac sand in most of my tanks, but recently tried PFS as it's a bit darker and that's what I was looking for. So far, I've honestly found it to be almost too light and a real pain to vacuum in the tank compared to frac sand (most of my frac sand has grains about 2-3mm). I've always loved the frac sand, and the only reason I went with PFS is that it's more easily available (if you work in the oilpatch or know someone who does, frac sand should be easy to find/come by, and I've never paid for it).

But either way, I still prefer sand over gravel. I find that it's more natural for my fish, and you get to see much more natural behaviour with it as well (at least with many of the Tangs).

The only gravel I've ever been able to find cheap is granite grit, bought from farm supply Co-ops (I would think that Peavey Mart may have it as well). Only problem is it's basically a white/black granite and I've never seen any other colours available. It's a pain to clean, but reasonably priced at around $8 for 50lbs.