Looking For Suggestions...

Jessica_L

Hi all,

I've just started cycling (fishless) my "new to me" 50 gallon freshwater tank. I'm hoping to make it a planted tank. Any suggestions on what to stock my tank with (I'm a beginner)? I'd like a community tank hopefully with some dwarf frogs and other invertebrates in addition to fish.

Thanks!

Most fish (excluding herbivores) will eat any shrimp that fit in their mouths, particularly the small hatchlings. Flake foods are made of shrimp meal, so most have been effectively training their fish to know the scent as food. Many fishkeepers watch in horror as minutes after adding shrimp to the tank all have been eaten or killed.

Hi Jessica_L.

I was considering dwarf frogs not so long ago, and I discovered that dwarf frogs (genus Hymenochirus) and clawed frogs (genus Xenopus) are, at times, labeled interchangeably. So it's nice to find a website like this one, that tries to distinguish between the two, and tankmates for either.

I can't find any info in that website that addresses inverts as adf tank mates (that I noticed anyways). However,

shows one way to reckon that relationship. The tank in the video has plenty of plants which act in the shrimps' favor. But the owner is aware that her frog(s) see the shrimp as prey. Take a look at the video comments. She keeps both in the same tank; shrimp annihilation isn't the final conclusion.

-f