Above ground pond...

Devon

I really want to make a pond in my backyard, but I can't use up any of the grass area because we have so many dogs, and not a lot of grass. It will have to be built on the cement. I have been researching above ground ponds, and I want to make the cheapest, but effecient DIY pond possible. I don't care if it's looks amazing, I just want it to hold fish!

My rough (very rough, I have never done this before) is to use railroad ties to make a 8'x4' box. I don't know how I would hold them together, any suggestions? Especially to support the corners? Then I would, I think, line the walls with plywood, then some sort of liner, like carpet liner...? Then, I would line the entire box with a heavy duty rubber pond liner. How would I attach the liner to the railroad ties?

I want it to be about 3 feet deep, maybe 3.5. How many gallons would this be? What would be the best, cheapest way to filter a pond this size?

Thanks, in advance, for the help!

I would stay away from the railroad ties. They are soaked in creosote (sp?) and will ruin whatever you use to cut them. They also leach a toxic compound into the nearby soil.

If you are on the cheap I would by some treated 4" X 6"s (sold at most lumber stores) with sand and a rubber liner. You may be able to get the liner and some slate to put around the top relatively inexpensively at a landscape supply store

You probably want to put a "shelf" in your pond so you will be able to put "marginals" (plants which the roots sit in water and the "tops" grow above the surface - like bullrushes) in your pond to help the fish hide from predators

Here is a site to figure out how many gallons your pond (or tank) has http://www.metric-conversions.org/volume/c...-to-gallons.htm

Dave