Moving Shrimp To Redo Tank

Ishkabod

Hi I'm new to shrimp and i'm planning to completely redo the substrait and plants in my fluval edge. Should i remove the shrimp entirely from the tank durring the redo and if i do that where should i keep them for those few hours and should i save the water from the tank from before the redo to keep parameters as cloce to the original as possible? Also how long would they be okay lets say in a 3 gallon ice cream pail(baskin robbins size) with the other inhabitants of the tank be okay. I'll add the filter to the side and the heater too but the water will be half of what it was with no food and the tube doesn't reach near halfway to the bottom so i'm worried about lack of filtration at the bottom.

One last thing i'm worried about possible contaminants from the bucket when they are in there soo long with a heater. I regularly use these buckets to warm filtered water to room temp but i don't leave warmer water in them for extended periods of time unless i'm rinseing them out with hot hot water.

Does anyone have any suggestions tips or tricks that might help

Thanks

L

Oh and they are cherry shrimp

I'de say carefully catch the shrimp and keep them separate, especially if your changin substrate. Also when adding the water make sure you don't stirr up the water because you don't want to put these guys back to a dirty tank. The shrimp are pretty sensitive to big changes and that could make them kick the bucket.

I would keep as much as the water as possible, don't clean your filter on your fluval edge and your shrimp will be okay in a bucket until your done. I wouldn't even bother with a heater filter and whatever else you want to add to your icecream pale. If your really worried maybe an airstone but I've never had a problem with nothing. If your not keeping your cherry shrimp outside in the snow the temp will stay the same.