If You Could Start All Over Again Knowing What You Know Now....

RTB71

Ok so I am new to the hobby and I am determined to have a reef tank. There is just no other option for me its what I want and I'm going to do it no matter what. I know I have painful lessons in front of me the kind you only experience from making mistakes and learning from them. So here is my question to all you veterans out there. If you could start over again knowing what you know now, in what order would your complete your first set up to avoid any head aches. I am going slow with my build, trying to read all the info that I can. From all the info I have read so far this seems to me to be the best order to proceed in which to give my self the greatest opportunity for success. any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. If I left something out feel free to add it in, if the order is wrong for you thats ok, what's your order ?

1. reef ready tank

2. stand

3. sump

4. return pump

5. skimmer

6. RODI + accessories, salt ect.

7. lighting

8. sand

9. live rock

10. patience

11. coral frags

12. power heads

13. patience

14. fish

thanks again! :)

I made some dumb mistakes, just cause I thought I could overcome the other advise....but this is what I would do if I were to do it again. I also would spend the extra money for the good stuff next go round.

(just a minor adjustment to your order)

1. reef ready tank

2. Powerheads

3. stand

4. sump

5. return pump

6. skimmer

7. RODI + accessories, salt ect.

8. lighting

9. sand

10. live rock

11. patience

12. Fish

13. Patience

14. Corals

Auto top-up of RODI water for the sump. That was my biggest headache when my 90g was saltwater - having to carry a 3g bucket every couple of days.

Also wished I had room for a big garbage can to store extra water in. I was always running out.