your insite on the best canister filter system

Lance

Just curious of what everyone thinks is the best canister filter system. Personaly I think Fluval is just all about its name. I kind of find Rena filstar system the XPes a better all along in design. So what are the pros 2 cents in the best filteration system??

I have 2 xp3s a magnum hot, and an ehiem knockoff, Ihave also had the magnum 350s and a fluval 304 in the past. For ease of service I find the xp3s the best. I have yet to try the fluval fx5 but it seems to be a great filter by member reviews

About 6 months ago I bought my first cannister a XP3 and I've been very pleased with it. Its really easy to disconnect and clean and provides lots of water movement in my 58g. Since I've only ever had this 1 cannister I can't really compare but the xp3 is a good filter for a decent price.

I have no experience with the FX5 I`ve heard good things about it. I`ve had a 403 and two 404s I wouldn`t even give them away. One actually was used for target practice. The other two went in the dumpster, they are a complete waste of plastic!!! I don`t have any experience with the others, all my tanks keep filling with salt so no need for a new canister.

I have 3 FX5,s running they are great need about 3 or 4 more.

Also have a XP4, it is also great.

Also have a 404 and and 403 Fluvals and not a bit of trouble, so they is great also.

Also have 8 AC,s of different sizes and they are also great.

Most filters these days are all good.

I had a fluval 404, and found it persnickety and a real pita. Once it got older it also started to leak and could not be fixed. The Rena's, I have the XP2 and XP3 and they are really easy to maintain and I have had no problems with them at all. The only thing I don't like about them is the manual sticking the water in the hose to get the siphon started. I tend to make a mess more often than not. Fortunately it does not usually lose it's siphon unless I drain the water past the input tube.